What does,"This message has been permanently deleted" mean?
[Q] What does,"This message has been permanently deleted" mean? In the logs folder, I keep getting a slew of "this message has been permanently deleted" messages in the Auto-file log folder. I just delete the folder, but they keep showing up again...
[A] If a message was listed in the log, it's not a problem. When you deleted the original message, that's what the log will show. You may want to delete the log after you've read all the messages listed in it. Deleting the log has no effect on the messages themselves.
The Logs folder and the "Auto-File Log" are different, and it is in the list window of the latter where that message is OK. The Logs folder is used mostly to store "Connection Log" messages from the "Emailer error reporter". Depending on your Preferences settings, the Auto-File Log may be in the Logs folder or in the In Box.
[Q] Why can't I get rid of this message, "This message has been permanently deleted"?
[A] If the message is not in the Logs Folder, then you have database corruption. If you are using version 1X of Emailer then this is not a problem. With the release of version 2, the mail is stored in a database to conserve disk space. Think about the explanation about HFS+ to understand the benefits of this. The database can get corrupted and you need to understand how to spot and correct this.
If you see the message "This message has been permanently deleted" in any other folder other than the Logs folder this is an indication of corruption, and you need to rebuild the database.
If you see the message "This message has been permanently deleted" in any other folder other than the Logs folder, your Emailer database is (slightly) corrupted. Hold down the option key while launching Emailer and select the "Typical Rebuild" option. If that doesn't work, try the second option.
Although Emailer will retain backup copies of the database files during the rebuild, extra-cautious users may want to make a separate backup of their Mail Database and Mail Index files before they rebuild.
If you're using FWB Turbo Toolkit, disable it and restart your Mac before attempting to rebuild the database.
[Q] I am wondering how a simple and an advanced rebuild differ. Are they more than a compression and copying of the database?
[A] A Simple Rebuild removes all deleted messages from the data base, and rewrites a new data base (both files) with only the non-deleted messages. It works from the index file to recreate both files. The resultant file has no wasted space between messages in the data file.
An Advanced Rebuild, uses the data file as its source, and creates a new pair of files from that; as a result, deleted messages are restored as undeleted, and folder information is lost.